The Poets

The Timeline

Chronologically by birth.

The Tang Dynasty

The Tang Dynasty (618–907) was neither the first nor the last Chinese dynasty.

In the timeline of Chinese history it lies somewhere in the middle and equates to Europe’s transition from the Dark Ages to the Early Middle Ages. By historical comparison, Charlemagne ruled central Europe and Muhammad was beginning his prophecy. Not until 871 did Alfred the Great become King of Wessex and then the first King of England.

The Tang Dynasty is often considered China’s golden age, when its territory was at its height, trade and literature flourished, religious toleration was allowed, and ethnic groups co-existed, but not always. China was often at war with Tibetans in the west and Turks on the north. Internal conflicts and palace intrigues often made for an “uneasy head that wore the crown”.

The Tang Poets

Chinese family names are listed first.

Luo Binwang 駱賓王 (ca. 619–684)

He Zhizhang 賀知章 (ca. 659–744)

Zhang Jiuling 張九齡 (678–740)

Wang Zhihuan 王之涣 (688-742)

Chang Jian 常建(unknown)

Liu Changqing 刘长卿 (circa 709–circa 780)

Cen Shen or Cen Can 岑參 (715–770)

Liu Zongyuan 柳宗元 (773 – 819)

Meng Haoran 孟浩然 (ca. 689–740)

Geshu Han 哥舒 翰 (died December 1, 757)

Li Bai, Li Bo 李白 (701 -762)

Du Fu, 杜甫 (712-770)

Zhang Ji, 張繼 (c.712-780)

Meng Jiao孟郊 (751–814)

Li Shen 李绅  (772-846)

Bai Juyi 白居易 (772-846)

Du Mu 杜牧  (803-852)

Cui Tu 崔塗  (854 – ?)

Luo Yin 羅隱 (c. 833 – 26 January 910)

On Translating Chinese Poetry